Return to Headlines

Airedales throttle Sand Lizards, 59-14 11/1/22

Airedales throttle Sand Lizards, 59-14 

Kevin Taylor

Alma Schools 


Alma senior Joe Trusty threw for 213 yards and four touchdowns to lead the Airedales to a 59-14 win over the Dardanelle sand Lizards. 


Alma (6-3, 3-3) rolled up 551 yards of offense while holding the Sand Lizards to just 33 yards in the final half. Alma's 59 points are the most points ever scored in a single game, breaking the previous mark of 58 set in 1969 against Lamar. 


Trusty got the Airedales going with a 19-yard touchdown pass to Matthew Schlegel. He hit Schlegel from 39 yards out later to make it 12-0. Schlegel caught four passes for 73 yards. 


Trusty, who finished with 120 yards rushing, added a 15-yard run right before the half to give the Airedales a 32-14 lead at the break. 


Trusty has thrown for 1,337 yards and 523 yards rushing for a combined 26 touchdowns, including 16 passing TDs. The Alma senior should pass Evan Burris (2012-14) this week for the third most tandem yards (rushing and passing). For his career, Thirsty has accounted for 4,606 yards rushing and passing, along with 51 touchdowns. 


Sophomore Israel Towns-Robinson added to his big season last week with a pair of touchdowns, including a 25-yard TD reception. Towns-Robinson has scored 11 touchdowns this season, including nine on the ground. 


Trenton Thompson added the final TD run with a 39-yard scamper. 


Senior Dillon Flanagan had three quarterback sacks, giving him 10 for the season. He is second all-time in single-season sacks. 


Brandon Wilson (2009), Ryan Evans (2003), Curtis Cowan (1984), and Glynn Fulmer (1978) had nine sacks in those respective seasons. 


Alma 8th grade wins 


Dylan Jackson set the tone by returning the opening kickoff 85 yards for a touchdown to power the Airedales’ eighth-grade team to a 14-6 win over Greenwood on Monday. 


Quarterback Chase Parker was 6-of-8 passing for 22 yards. He also ran for 57 yards and a touchdown. Izaac Plourde led the way with 131 yards rushing. 


Plourde also had eight tackles. Andrew Bush and Lawson Adams had interceptions for the winners. Bush added five tackles. 


Boaz Benson had three stops and a sack.